Pelham Public Schools Committee Descriptions & Contacts

Athletic Fields Sub-committee

Focus: A working committee that will review the conditions and use of our athletic fields and facilities and make recommendations to the Bond Steering and Facilities Use, Safety, and Conditions Committee.  

Contact Person: Vincent Mazzaro, BOE Member, vmazzaro@pelhamschools.org

Community Engagement and Advocacy

Focus: To evaluate and improve two-way communication with the community and to advocate for the educational interests of all our students at both the state and local levels.

Contact Person:  Sue Bratone Childs, BOE President, schilds@pelhamschools.org

Audit

Focus: To oversee and report to the Board on the annual independent audit of the District’s records. The committee shall recommend the selection of the independent and internal auditors and continue on through the review of significant internal and external audit findings.

Contact Person: Vincent Mazzaro, BOE Member, vmazzaro@pelhamschools.org

Bond Steering

Focus: The Bond Steering Committee will be the district’s primary interface with the architect and construction manager. The Committee will meet between Board of Education (BOE) meetings and provide the BOE with the construction, design and cost information necessary to make informed decisions regarding the implementation of the 2018 Capital Improvement Bond.

Contact Person: Jessica Young, BOE Member, jyoung@pelhamschools.org

Strategic Planning

Focus: To engage administrators, teachers, staff and the community for development of the District’s next five-year Strategic Plan.

Contact Person: Eileen Miller, BOE Member, emiller@pelhamschools.org

Wellness

Focus: The Wellness Committee works as an oversight committee to maintain and/ or implement new programs and strategies through a perspective of best practices for the social and emotional wellness of our students K-12.

Contact Person: Dr. Cheryl Champ, Superintendent of Schools, cchamp@pelhamschools.org; Susan Lockhart, Interim Asst. Superintendent for Pupil Personnel Services, slockhart@pelhamschools.org

Literacy

Focus: The Literacy Committee works to create a district culture of engaged and informed readers and writers who maintain a voice and choice in their work and who demonstrate critical thinking and strong communication skills. The Committee promotes a literacy rich culture throughout the district, encourages the development of literacy infused programs, and makes recommendations regarding literacy-based opportunities.

Contact Person: Dr. Maria Thompson, Director of Humanities, mthompson@pelhamschools.org

Math​ ​Review

Focus: This committee reviews the District’s K-12 math programs and practices as well as professional development for staff. Members of the committee will seek ways to improve those programs.

Contact Person: Dr. Tom Callahan, Director of Math and Science, tcallahan@pelhamschools.org

Safety and Security

Focus: The District's Safety & Security Committee works to assess and improve the security of our buildings and ensure that our students and staff are safe in and around the school facilities.

Contact Person: Jim Hricay, Asst. Superintendent for Business, jhricay@pelhamschools.org

Diversity Oversight

Focus: The Diversity Oversight Committee works to oversee and address the pillars and objectives of the Strategic Plan related to matters of diversity in the Pelham Schools as well as oversee the implementation of the 2014 Diversity Task Force Report.

Contact Person: Jeannine Clark, PMHS Principal, jclark@pelhamschools.org

Maria Thompson, Director of Humanities, mthompson@pelhamschools.org

International​ ​Baccalaureate​ ​Oversight

Focus: The International Baccalaureate Oversight Committee works to review the implementation of the IB MYP in grades 6-10.  

Contact Person: Sean Llewellyn, Interim Asst. Principal of Pelham Middle School, sllewellyn@pelhamschools.org

K-12 Innovation Steering

Focus: The K-12 Innovation Committee will focus on the exploration, understanding, and implementation of 21st century learning environments in the Pelham Public Schools. Our work aspires to engage and empower all learners, as we seek to enhance communication, collaboration, critical thinking and creativity in the curricular program.  

Contact Person: Dr. Steven Garcia, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Personnel, sgarcia@pelhamschools.org